Post, 9/11

Well, here we are, September 12, 2013, the day following the anniversary of that heinous attack on the World Trade Center. For a fleeting moment, many were transported back in time, to Sept.11, 2001. Some cried, others fumed, and others chose, for some reason or other, to forgo any participation what so ever, in any of the commemorative services.
Those who chose to observe a moment of silence might wonder what possess a person to behave as such.

Don’t they care about the families of those defenseless victims who were dealt such a horrific blow? Is there no empathy with respect to the endless suffering these families have gone through, day after day, month after month, and year after year? These are legitimate questions that can only be answered by these quiet ones.

These are individuals who have chosen to erase certain “bad” memories from their minds, as they can not cope with trials and/or tribulations. To them, 9/11 is one of those dark areas they would rather block from their memory banks. Events, such as that which was perpetrated on our fellow citizens, could be deemed as destructive to their well being. Therefore, if there is no participation, there is no memory of that day, and no flash backs. Since there are no flashbacks, then it would stand to reason, that all is well. We can not blame them. That is their make up.

In addition to the aforementioned, we have those who still harbor so much resentment, that year after year, all they think about is, “Revenge.” “How can I pay them back for what they did? How can I make their families feel what I still feel?” These ones don’t seem to be at peace. Do I feel for them? Yes I do. No matter what they try, they will never leave that muddled zone which has brought not only hatred, but fear as well. Some are still in that thinking mode which is, “I’ll get you before you get me.” Sad to say, these terrorists have changed the lives of these poor souls forever.

Yesterday I visited several Face Book accounts, and to my dismay, some of the comments were so anti-victims, that it prompted me to chastise some of those involved. These individuals don’t really care, nor do they have any empathy for the victims, nor the families that lost loved ones. Now, these are the ones I would personally love to send to one of these countries. I venture to say, that one day among the terrorists, would have them crying for mercy, and who knows what else. To me, these are cowards.

America is a unique country, and the best one in the world. Each individual is also unique. We think, act, behave, and view the world, differently from one another. We are many cultures meshed into one. That’s what makes us so strong.
My message to those individuals I have described is the following: We are in this together, and we are a huge family. Be more sensible, and aware of the needs of those around you. Never forget what was perpetrated on our way of life. Remain alert at all times, and remember this, the only ones we can count on are God, and each other. God Bless America, and may we never experience such atrocities again.

7 thoughts on “Post, 9/11

  1. A very emotive post Johnny. So much pain and so much healing to be done. Will it ever heal? We can but pray. I love America, God Bless America and God bless you. I hope you have a lovely weekend :-)

  2. HI again Johnny. I just wanted to know that I have an award for you! No rules, just for you to collect if you would like it, to display proudly on your blog if you want to. Sorry this is late, I was in such a hurray on Friday that I accidentally missed off 3 blogs from my list, yours being one of them and I didn’t realise until today!!! Anyway, here is the link: http://sherrimatthewsblog.com/2013/09/13/what-a-week-time-to-bring-out-some-awards/
    Have a great day, all blessings to you :-)

      • You are very welcome Johnny. To be honest, I just figured it out by trial and error so I am probably not doing it right either! If you right click on the award image on my post, you can then have the option to save it in your pictures file. From there you can upload it to an image widget which will place it on your sidebar. I hope that helps :-)

Leave a Reply

